Some of the World’s Best Quotes

  1. All we have to do is decide what to do with the time that is given us. -Gandalf the Grey
  2. If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. -Thorin Oakenshield
  3. Not all those who wander are lost. – J.R.R. Tolkien
  4. If want to be what you are not yet, you must always be displeased by what you are. For where you are pleased with yourself there you have stopped. Keep adding, keep walking, keep advancing. – Saint Augustine
  5. Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference.  – Robert Frost
  6. You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take. – Wayne Gretzky
  7. Life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it. – Charles Swindoll
  8. Dear young people, do not bury your talents, the gifts that God has given you!  Do not be afraid to dream of great things! – Pope Francis
  9. Just do it. – the Nike slogan
  10. There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing, and be nothing. – Aristotle
  11. I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed. -Michael Jordan
  12. Every man dies, but not every man really lives. -Braveheart
  13. The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now. -Chinese Proverb
  14. There is some good in this world, and it’s worth fighting for. – Samwise Gamgee
  15. I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve. -Bilbo Baggins
  16. The nation doesn’t simply need what we have. It needs what we are. -St. Teresia Benedicta (Edith Stein)
  17. Crying is all right in its way while it lasts. But you have to stop sooner or later, and then you still have to decide what to do. ― C.S. Lewis The Silver Chair
  18. To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable. ― C.S. Lewis The Four Loves

I hope you all enjoy these quotes as much as I do!

Elizabeth

5 thoughts on “Some of the World’s Best Quotes

Leave a Reply

