Whatever I Draw, part 4: A Surprise for Tullier

Okay, everyone, here’s part four of Whatever I Draw.  Remember, Tullier just told everyone that he was followed……  Enjoy!

Whatever I Draw, part 4

by Eliza May

“WHAT?!” roared Kirk, jumping up from where he had sat.  “You were followed here?  And you didn’t want to tell us that sooner?  Those are the first words that should have come from your mouth.  Not, ‘Oh, hi, I’m Tullier.  Weather’s a bit nasty, huh?  Oh, and by the way, we’re probably going to be ambushed in a few minutes by angry guys who ten to one have machine guns.’”

“Look, dude, sorry.  They didn’t see me come in here.  I just saw a car following me.  It got hung up at a red light, and I turned a few corners, then started running.  I’m pretty sure I lost them.”

Kirk relaxed slightly.  “And you didn’t want to tell me that before I started yelling?”

Tullier pulled a wry face.  “Didn’t have much of a chance to.”

A broad grin broke over Kirk’s face and he slugged Tullier in the shoulder.  “Y’know, I like this kid!”

“Ow,” muttered Tullier under his breath.  He grinned weakly back at the big man and rubbed his shoulder.  Inside, though, he was turning cartwheels and somersaults.  Unless he was totally wrong, he had a feeling that these people were friends, people who, for the first time in his life, could be really trusted.  It was an exalting feeling.  Exhaling, he eased himself into one of the chairs.  “Okay,” he said.  “Let’s start talking.”

Kirk cracked his neck and leaned forward, his forearms resting on the table.  “Everyone in this room has questions.  Including you, Tullier.  But let’s start by covering what we already know.  And I’m sure you’re wondering who we are, as in, how we know about you and the pencil.”

“Yeah,” Tullier agreed.  “It’s kinda strange to have a random person stop you on the sidewalk and direct you to the most rundown place in the whole city.  To ‘meet some people who can help.’”  He glanced expectantly at Kirk.

“But obviously you want help, if you came here.”

Tullier shrugged.  “I just don’t know what you can do.”

“We can support you.  You see, you’re not alone in wanting to keep the pencil away from people who would want to misuse it.  I mean, obviously, since we’re here.”  He grinned in an attempt to lighten the mood, but his efforts were met with blank stares.  “Okay, then.  Uh, so-”

Tullier interrupted.  “Listen here, Kirk.  Just cut to the point, will you?  The people who were following me aren’t going to give up just because they lost me for a minute.  Give me a quick summary of all that I absolutely need to know and then we can head to a safer place, like your headquarters or something.”

Kirk shifted uneasily.  “Uh, what kind of safer place?  I mean,” he continued, with a forced laugh, “what could be safer than a completely abandoned tenement building in the most rundown part of town?”

“I could name ten right now,” muttered Tullier.  Louder, he said, “So you think this is a good idea, just hanging out here?”

Kirk shrugged, and the other two shared unsure glances.  “Uh, yeah, actually.”

“Well, it’s not!  There’s a reason I’ve been living on the run for the past three years!  It’s only a matter of time before they find me.  Us.  And the pencil.  Do you know what they could do with this pencil?  And once they had it, they wouldn’t need us.  They’d dispose of us in any way they wanted.”

Kirk’s face grew more serious.  “You’re wrong, there, Tullier.  I mean, maybe they wouldn’t need me, Stef, and Luger, but if they only wanted the pencil, they would have killed you long ago and taken it from your cold, dead body.”

I hope you all liked it!  Part 5 will be coming soon.  Please like or comment below!

4 thoughts on “Whatever I Draw, part 4: A Surprise for Tullier

  1. Pingback: Whatever I Draw, part 5: How to Use a Pencil | Lily: The Story of an Orphan

Leave a Reply

